Meet the Tutors – Amelia Chichester

Harry Mav: Hey Amelia, great to see you! So this is your 5th year of tutoring at First Ed?

Amelia Chichester: That’s right! I’ve absolutely loved my time here tutoring the students, it’s been great to see the students grow both academically and as young men and women over the years!

HM: It is a great blessing indeed! How long has it been for your longest student?

AC: 4 years now, we started in Year 6 and he is now in Year 9. With two students in fact!

HM: Wow! And you’re studying at the moment, doing your Masters right?

AC: Yep I’m doing my Masters in Public Health after having done a Bachelor of Science (Immunobiology). I want to then use this to raise awareness for health issues – in fact it’s my work as a tutor that has made me realise I have a love for education and I’d like to combine the health and education somehow in my career.

HM: That’s awesome! So how could you do this?

AC: I guess it would be around preventative measures that we can take to stop diseases like HIV and malaria. Looking forward to that one day soon!

HM: And what other hobbies do you have?

AC: I run a bit. I’ve been doing the half marathon for a few years now.

HM: Haha just a casual 21km of running. Do you run the whole time? What’s your best time?

AC: I wasn’t running the whole time originally but recently I’ve been really pushing myself. My fastest time is 2 hours and 15 minutes, I’m always trying to beat my previous time. I guess if you train enough and really put your mind to it you can achieve anything!

Meet the Tutors – Steven Kassiou

Harry Mav: Hey Steven, so tell us a bit about yourself, what are you studying at uni?

Steven Kassiou: Hey! I’m studying Mechatronic Engineering and Commerce!

HM: Wow, five and a half years?

SK: Yep!

HM: Ok wow, and somehow you have time to be President of the UNSW Hellenic Society! I remember this from 10 years ago!

SK: Indeed, I was president last year, it was an amazing opportunity to give back to the community and contribute to students’ lives.

HM: And outside of that, you’ve been coaching football I hear?

SK: I’ve been coaching for 2 years now and playing for 16 years, I love playing and sharing football! Basically it’s either football, uni, tutoring or reading.

HM: Awesome. What types of books do you read?

SK: I read mainly non fiction books regarding our psychology. Books around how to be a better person. I’m reading a book called Drive by Daniel Pink now, it talks about how to motivate yourself and others.

HM: Fascinating. And with your tutoring, how has that been going?

SK: So I’ve been tutoring Maths and Physics now for four years, it’s the best! I really cherish the ability to help other people, it’s such a meaningful service which is a win win for everyone. The kids are able to reinforce what they learn at school and it’s so fulfilling for us tutors to mentor and guide the students. I always try to take every opportunity to strategically encourage the students and work with them to really bring out the best they can possibly do!